+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Multidimensional Array to Single Column Range

  1. #1
    Forum Contributor
    Join Date
    08-19-2009
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    MS-Off Ver
    Excel 2010
    Posts
    585

    Multidimensional Array to Single Column Range

    Hello all,

    I am trying to put a multiple column range into an array and write it back to a single range.
    This is what I have so far but can't get it working properly.

    I see what the problem is but am not experienced enough with arrays to solve it
    It overwrites 7 times the cell value before going to the next row.

    Please Login or Register  to view this content.
    All help is welcome.

  2. #2
    Forum Contributor kalbasiatka's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-27-2016
    Location
    Brest, Belarus
    MS-Off Ver
    2021
    Posts
    224

    Re: Multidimensional Array to Single Column Range

    Hi. No one but you knows what should be the result. Show in the file what needs to be done with an array.
    To do it for me and help me it is 2 different things!
    Sorry for my english, blame Google translator

  3. #3
    Valued Forum Contributor
    Join Date
    02-02-2016
    Location
    Indonesia
    MS-Off Ver
    Office 365
    Posts
    1,028

    Re: Multidimensional Array to Single Column Range

    By 'single range' you mean single column, right?
    Maybe this:
    Please Login or Register  to view this content.

  4. #4
    Forum Guru
    Join Date
    08-15-2004
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    MS-Off Ver
    2013 O.365
    Posts
    22,834

    Re: Multidimensional Array to Single Column Range

    For each loop in 2d array goes downwards first...
    Please Login or Register  to view this content.
    Last edited by jindon; 05-09-2016 at 04:35 AM. Reason: Fixed a Typo

  5. #5
    Forum Expert pike's Avatar
    Join Date
    12-11-2005
    Location
    Alstonville, Australia
    MS-Off Ver
    2016
    Posts
    5,342

    Re: Multidimensional Array to Single Column Range

    If the solution helped please donate to RSPCA

    Site worth visiting: Rabbitohs

  6. #6
    Forum Contributor
    Join Date
    08-19-2009
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    MS-Off Ver
    Excel 2010
    Posts
    585
    Quote Originally Posted by Akuini View Post
    By 'single range' you mean single column, right?
    Maybe this:
    Please Login or Register  to view this content.
    Thanks Akuini this is working great!

  7. #7
    Forum Contributor
    Join Date
    08-19-2009
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    MS-Off Ver
    Excel 2010
    Posts
    585
    Quote Originally Posted by jindon View Post
    For each loop in 2d array goes downwards first...
    Please Login or Register  to view this content.
    Thanks jindon, I go for akuinis solution because I found yours harder to understand

  8. #8
    Forum Contributor
    Join Date
    08-19-2009
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    MS-Off Ver
    Excel 2010
    Posts
    585
    Quote Originally Posted by pike View Post

    Thanks Pike but I needed a VBA solution

  9. #9
    Forum Expert Doc.AElstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    05-23-2014
    Location
    '_- Germany >Outside Building things.... Mostly
    MS-Off Ver
    Office 2003 2007 2010 PC but Not mac. XP and Vista mostly, sometimes Win 7
    Posts
    3,618

    Re: Multidimensional Array to Single Column Range

    So here is another solution to add to the collection

    But First.......

    _1)

    As kalbasiatka said No one but you knows what should be the result. It is always best to demonstrate to us ( preferably with reduced size, desensitised data ) exactly what You want

    Both Akuini’s and jindon codes work for me.
    Jindon’s goes ( strangely ? ) through all rows first, then columns. ( I thought VBA and Excel always went from right to left then top to bottom? Maybe a Arr is different)

    Akuini’s is made to go through each column before going down a row.

    I do not feel like doing Pike’s solution way just now, ( although at first glance it does seem to be explained very well ), but I would like to see it applied to your application as another interesting solution, How about it Pike ?

    My Guess was that you wanted rows then columns, as you have confirmed now. My Code does that.
    Note All codes just give you Values Out

    To demo first on reduced data for our three codes.

    Say this is your Data


    Using Excel 2007
    Row\Col
    F
    G
    H
    21
    f21
    g21
    h21
    22
    f22
    g22
    h22
    23
    f23
    g23
    h23
    pgcArraysSplitToColumn
    _.....

    then using a version of code from Akuini

    Please Login or Register  to view this content.
    You get this:

    Using Excel 2007
    Row\Col
    AX
    1
    f21
    2
    g21
    3
    h21
    4
    f22
    5
    g22
    6
    h22
    7
    f23
    8
    g23
    9
    h23
    pgcArraysSplitToColumn
    _...............................................
    Or
    using a version of code from jindon

    Please Login or Register  to view this content.
    You get

    Using Excel 2007
    Row\Col
    AX
    1
    f21
    2
    f22
    3
    f23
    4
    g21
    5
    g22
    6
    g23
    7
    h21
    8
    h22
    9
    h23
    pgcArraysSplitToColumn

    _...........................................
    _... OK back to mother code alternative.

    _....
    _2 ) Here is my equivalent code ( to Akuini’s) . It gives the same results as Akuini’s
    Here for the reduced input Range
    Main Code for reduced Data
    Please Login or Register  to view this content.

    Here the code for what we guessed was your wanted Output Range
    Main Code for Full input Range
    Please Login or Register  to view this content.
    As you can see the difference is very little, but the reduced example is better to follow and understand in the Thread.
    My Codes are very flexible: You just change the
    Input range
    and
    Top Cell Range
    of where the output should go.

    Note: For both my codes you need also this Function. Just copy it to the same Module that your main code is in. There are simple Functions to do that BTW. Just that seemed the quickest. Many of those are explained in detail here:
    http://www.excelforum.com/tips-and-t...explained.html


    A Function to get Column Letter from Column Number

    Please Login or Register  to view this content.
    _..................................................

    There you go.
    .. or almost....
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan78 View Post
    .....I go for akuinis solution ......because I found yours harder to understand
    I do not like to use codes I do not understand. Mine is very hard to understand , but if you can you would learn a lot. For the benefit of anyone interested, in the next post I explain it in full detail, ( For ease of explanation it works on the reduced size data I gave in the first screen shot above.
    '_- Google first, like this _ site:ExcelForum.com Gamut
    Use Code Tags: Highlight code; click on the # icon above,
    Post screenshots COPYABLE to a Spredsheet; NOT IMAGES PLEASE
    http://www.excelforum.com/the-water-...ml#post4109080
    https://app.box.com/s/gjpa8mk8ko4vkwcke3ig2w8z2wkfvrtv
    http://excelmatters.com/excel-forums/ ( Scrolll down to bottom )

  10. #10
    Forum Expert Doc.AElstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    05-23-2014
    Location
    '_- Germany >Outside Building things.... Mostly
    MS-Off Ver
    Office 2003 2007 2010 PC but Not mac. XP and Vista mostly, sometimes Win 7
    Posts
    3,618

    Re: Multidimensional Array to Single Column Range

    I do not like to use codes I do not understand. Mine is very hard to understand , but if you can you would learn a lot. For the benefit of anyone interested, in this post I explain my Code in full detail, ( For ease of explanation it works on the reduced size data I gave in the first screen shot above.


    So the Explnation of Alan’s codes.
    Code also here:
    http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...10#post4381972

    In words first briefelly.
    To Fully understand , run the code in F8 debug mode, and follow through, the comments and what happens in the Worksheet. Also if you know how set watches on variables ( Highlight variable in code anywhere and hit SHIFT + F9 ), do that and see how they are filled

    In Words.

    The basic idea is to simply use the .Index Function in this form, ( “pseudo code” )

    Output = .Index( Cells , rws(), clms() )

    Cells is the entire spreadsheet Range

    rws()
    and clms() are Arrays containing the spreadsheet row and column number you want starting from the first.

    VBA .Index works in such a form such that it pairs sequentially each row and column number , then gives out the Value at those Spreadsheet co ordinates. This value it adds to the end of an ever increasing internally generated 1 D Array
    VBA has a convention to allow you to paste this “long” Array of values to a Row.
    But you do not want that. So we simply .Transpose that to give you a “deep” column
    ( I would add something in passing here. The .Transpose can be a bit quirky when transposing Values. So you might want to replace it with a simple Function. Such as here
    http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...t=#post4378086
    Note as you are giving a 1 D Array you will need to use the biggest code:
    http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...t=#post4378089
    _....)


    Rem Ref pgc http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/excel-q...-column-2.html
    Rem Ref shg http://www.excelforum.com/tips-and-t...ml#post4214733
    _...........

    So here the code , have fun in going through !!

    Alan

    Please Login or Register  to view this content.
    Last edited by Doc.AElstein; 05-09-2016 at 12:12 PM.

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-07-2016, 09:54 PM
  2. storing variable single column range into array
    By Prokis in forum Excel Programming / VBA / Macros
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-22-2013, 09:38 AM
  3. Using the ReDim array function in a multidimensional array in excel
    By Doruli in forum Excel Formulas & Functions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-05-2012, 01:43 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2012, 01:41 PM
  5. [SOLVED] Paste Multidimensional Array into 1 Range Column
    By mcclanat in forum Excel Programming / VBA / Macros
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-07-2012, 07:58 PM
  6. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-28-2012, 05:59 PM
  7. Multidimensional array
    By gwithey in forum Excel Programming / VBA / Macros
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 02-02-2009, 12:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 1